Press Release

Press Release: Johnson, Merber, and Brannigan have record-breaking nights at the 2016 Sir Walter Miler

Lauren Johnson, Kyle Merber, and Mikey Brannigan have record-breaking nights at the 2016 Sir Walter Miler

August 6, 2016 – Raleigh, NC – On Friday night, August 5th, both Men’s and Women’s North Carolina Outdoor Mile Records were broken, as well as the T20 World Record in the Men’s Mile. Six Women broke the 4:30 barrier and nine men broke 4:00 in the mile.

Lauren Johnson led the Women’s field in a personal best time of 4:25.04, breaking the previous North Carolina Outdoor State Record of 4:28.84, which was set by Steph Garcia at the 2015 event. Johnson’s time is the fastest by an American this year, and the third best time in the world. Following Johnson under the 4:30 barrier was Amanda EcclestonHeather Kampf, Cory McGeeStephanie Brown, and Nicole Tully. Johnson, Brown, and Tully became the 67th, 68th, and 69th American females to break the 4:30 barrier.

In the Men’s race, Kyle Merber led his New Jersey New York Track Club teammate, Colby Alexander, to the finish line in a North Carolina Outdoor State Record, and personal best time of 3:54.57. Alexander (3:54.94), Johnny Gregorek (3:55.27), Graham Crawford (3:56.05), Ford Palmer (3:56.58), Drew Hunter (3:57.15), Mikey Brannigan (3:57.58), Cory Leslie (3:58.5), and Jack Bolas (3:59.98) all finished under the four minute barrier, making nine men in total. Only the 2013 Falmouth Mile had more American Men under 4:00 in one race (10). The top seven Men in the field set personal bests. The race was Hunter’s professional debut, as he recently signed a contract with adidas to forego college competition.

Brannigan’s time of 3:57.58 is a T20 world record in the Men’s mile. Brannigan, who was diagnosed with autism when he was 18-months-old, will represent the United States in Rio at the Paralympics in September. He is the first T20 athlete to ever break four minutes in the mile. Brannigan also became the 473rd American to break the 4:00 barrier.

The 2016 event kicked off with the ‘Raleigh vs. Durham Challenge,’ where local runners competed in the mile in a cross country-style scored race. 2015 Sir Walter Miler intern, Alex Boseman, took the individual title in 4:31.65 on the Men’s side, and former Apex High and NC State alum, Andie Cozzarelli, led the Women in 4:50.41. Team Raleigh won the team title. The ‘Run Club 4×400 meter Relay’ exhibition followed, with the Nog Run Club winning in 3:57.05.

The event also included a pre and post race party at Raleigh Brewing Company. The party was highlighted by two food trucks (BO’s Kitchen and Rollin Dogs), live music from Craig Thompson of Old Habits, and special beers from North Carolina-based breweries (Trophy Brewing Co.Wicked Weed Brewing, Bond Brothers Beer Company, and Raleigh Brewing) that raised funds for the Friends of the Mountains-to-Sea Trail.

Sponsors of the 2016 Sir Walter Miler were Great Outdoor Provision Co., Mash & Lauter, Stiner Massage, USATF North Carolina, ElliptiGO, Arrow HaircutsRun Gum, and b.good. The event was broadcast live on FloTrack. The Sir Walter Miler is expected to return in 2017.

The Sir Walter Miler is directed and promoted by Sir Walter Running.

Women’s Elite Mile (Race Video)

  1. Lauren Johnson 4:25.04 ($1350)*
  2. Amanda Eccleston 4:25.64 ($500)
  3. Heather Kampf 4:27.23 ($400)
  4. Cory McGee 4:28.66 ($250)
  5. Stephanie Brown 4:29.06 ($200)
  6. Nicole Tully 4:29.78 ($100)
  7. Shannon Osika 4:30.62
  8. Rachel Schneider 4:32.41
  9. Lianne Farber 4:33.50
  10. Morgan Uceny 4:33.72
  11. Sara Vaughn 4:35.52
  12. Rachel Cliff 4:38.39
  13. Brook Handler 4:41.49
  14. Sarah Rapp 4:55.65

Men’s Elite Mile (Race Video)

  1. Kyle Merber 3:54.57 ($1250)*
  2. Colby Alexander 3:54.94 ($500)
  3. Johnny Gregorek 3:55.27 ($400)
  4. Graham Crawford 3:56.05 ($250)
  5. Ford Palmer 3:56.58 ($100)
  6. Drew Hunter 3:57.15
  7. Mikey Brannigan 3:57.58 ($100)**
  8. Cory Leslie 3:58.51
  9. Jack Bolas 3:59.98
  10. Donnie Cowart 4:00.06
  11. Lex Williams 4:01.14
  12. Brandon Hudgins 4:01.78
  13. Chris Derrick 4:02.02
  14. Morgan Pearson 4:10.12
  15. Blake Williams 4:20.92

*State Record (includes $250 Stiner State Record Bonus, sponsored by Stiner Massage)
**T20 world record

USATF NC Mile / Raleigh vs. Durham Challenge Mile Results

Run Club 4×400 Relay Results

Photos (Courtesy of Cheryl Treworgy /

For more information, contact Pat Price at and 919.260.8013

One thought on “Press Release: Johnson, Merber, and Brannigan have record-breaking nights at the 2016 Sir Walter Miler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.