Press Release

Press Release: Final fields set for 2022 Sir Walter Miler

August 3, 2022 – Raleigh, North Carolina – Sir Walter Running is excited to announce the final elite fields for the 2022 Sir Walter Miler. The fields consist of Olympians from four countries, National Champions, and local standouts.

The “Miler” returns in its eighth year to its standard first Friday night spot on August 5, 2022 at the Cardinal Gibbons Track, where the event got its start with the Sandman Mile in 2013.

The 2022 event will again feature Elite Men’s and Women’s Mile races, as well as two events that show off local runners: the COROS Coaches Clash and the local Run Club 4×400 meter Relay, presented by North Raleigh Family Eyecare.

The Men’s Elite Field is highlighted by 3 Olympians, 5 athletes looking to break 4:00 for the first time, and new professionals, including 2021 Olympian Yared Nuguse. While attending Notre Dame, Nuguse set the NCAA Record in the 1500 meters (3:34.68) at NC State’s Paul Derr Track at the 2021 ACC Championships.

The Women’s Elite Field hosts a trio of former athletes from NC State (Elly Henes, Hannah Steelman, Megan Mansy), a past winner (Charlene Lipsey ’18), and Jamaican Olympian, Aisha Praught-Leer.

Broadcasting legend Larry Rawson and 2016 Olympian (and the 54th American Woman to break 4:30 in the mile) Colleen Quigley will be in Raleigh to broadcast the event on site, and will attend events surrounding the 2022 Sir Walter Miler.

The Sir Walter Miler is free and open to the public and will be broadcast live on

Up-to-the-minute Race Day information can be found at and on the Summer of Miles podcast, which is posting daily episodes leading up to the event.

On will be sponsoring an on-field tailgate at Cardinal Gibbons at 7pm, with free On swag, games, food and beverages, while they last. There will be food trucks in the parking lot and LMNT will be providing free samples for fans that come early.

The 2022 Sir Walter Miler features $5000 in guaranteed prize money, plus bonus incentives. The Sir Walter Miler has had 57 sub 4:00 performances on the Men’s side and 25 sub 4:30 performances on the Women’s since its inception in 2014. The last time the 4:00 barrier was broken in Raleigh before then was 1974. No female had broken 4:30 in North Carolina before 2015.

The 2022 Sir Walter Miler weekend will consist of events from Wednesday through Saturday, starting with a free track meet at St. Augustine’s and an Athlete Panel on Wednesday night at Runologie.

Saturday morning is the traditional “Run with the Pros” at Umstead Park. On Saturday night, the Raleigh RunDown Downhill Mile will be held on Centennial Parkway, followed by awards and a post-race party at Trophy Brewing on Maywood. Sign ups are at

More information on all these events can be found at

Sponsors of the 2022 Sir Walter Miler are Waverly Hematology OncologyThink Promotional GroupGreater Raleigh Sports Alliance, COROSNorth Raleigh Family EyecareElliptiGOAthletic Brewing Co.Sanctuary VineyardsOn, Trophy Brewing Co.LMNT, and JDL Fast Track.

The Sir Walter Miler is directed and promoted by Sir Walter Running, a Raleigh-based 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to “bring the Greater Raleigh running community together through innovation, activation, and inclusivity.” Sir Walter Running is a USATF club that produces the Pop Up Miles series, the Raleigh RunDown Downhill Mile, the Raleigh (Holiday) Half Marathon, the Tour de Walter, and the aforementioned Summer of Miles podcast.

Social Media: #SirWalterMiler | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube
Podcast: Summer of Miles on Apple Podcasts | SoundCloud | TuneIn | Stitcher | Spotify
Live Results: TBD

For more information, sponsorship information, or interview requests, contact Pat Price at and 919-783-7660

7:00pm – Sir Walter Miler Tailgate by On Running

8:30pm – COROS Coaches Clash

  • Andie Cozzarelli F RunnersConnect
  • Chandler Caldwell M Louisburg College
  • Costen Irons M Durham Academy
  • Dan Middleman M Voyager Academy
  • Daniel Bennet M Bradley Bourbonnais Community High School (IL)
  • Elena Der F TRC Run Club Durham
  • Ericka Charles F Durham School of the Arts
  • Hana Baskin F East Chapel Hill High School
  • Joe Johnston M Cleveland High Cross Country
  • Justin Sink M East Davidson High School
  • Kelly Svihovec F Triangle Run Smart
  • Paul Scruggs M Panther Creek High School
  • Richard Berger M Leesville Road High School
  • Sean Nicol M Leesville Road
  • Omar Wiggin M Trinity Academy
  • Colin Hackman M Without Limits
  • Kelly Kennedy F Cape Fear Academy

8:40pm – Run Club 4x400m Relay (presented by North Raleigh Eyecare)

  • Fortnight Brewing Run Club
  • Flying Saucer Run Club
  • Laboratory Run Club
  • Nog Run Club
  • North Carolina Roadrunners Club
  • Pace Yourself Run Co.
  • Pace Yourself Southern Pines
  • Runologie TC
  • Team Ponyrun
  • Team PR Project
  • Unlikely Professionals Run Club
  • cRUNk Crank Arm Running
  • Bull City Track Club

8:45pm – Fans can enter the track area

9:00pm – National Anthem

9:15pm – Women’s Elite Mile (click name for bio)

9:30pm – Men’s Elite Mile (click name for bio)

9:40pm – Awards Ceremony on the Cardinal Gibbons Track

9:55pm – Post Party starts at Raleigh Brewing Company

Some history on the Sir Walter Miler:

  • When the event was created, the last sub 4:00 mile seen in Raleigh was run in 1974. Since 2014, the Sir Walter Miler has hosted 57 sub 4:00 performances on the Men’s side..
  • Before the Sir Walter Miler, no Woman had ever run under 4:30 in the Mile in Raleigh, or the state of North Carolina. Since then, we have seen 25 Women break the hallowed barrier at the event.
  • In 2015, Sports Illustrated called the event the “Future Model of American Track & Field”
  • In 2016, Paralympic Gold Medalist Mikey Brannigan became the first (and only to this day) T20 athlete to break the 4:00 barrier, running 3:57.58.
  • In 2018, all 13 finishers in the Men’s Elite Mile broke 4:00, which tied for the most in a single race.
  • In 2021, 9 Women broke the 4:30 barrier, including 8 Americans, the highest number in a single race.
  • The Women’s Record is 4:25.04 (Lauren Johnson ’16) and the Men’s Record is 3:53.86 (Lopez Lomong ’18).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.